PureHeals Centella 70 Cream – Oh my Centella!

I’m starting a little group to put all my reviews of Centella products into because I plan on trying so many and I want it to be easy for everyone to search for the perfect Centella product for them. Just search for the “Oh my Centella!” category!

 

AirBrush_20170810092940

This is the first Centella product I’ve ever tried and I was looking forward to seeing if Centella really is this miracle ingredient it’s hyped up to be. I got this cream from 08liter.com and posted a mini review on Instagram already but I wanted to post something more detailed on here.

17-08-10-09-39-02-282_deco

Consistency: This looks and feels like a gel cream but it’s thicker. The cream had moved to one side during shipping and it’s never settled back down no matter how much I shake the bottle so that kind of gives you an idea of the consistency. Once touched, the cream does not fall back to its original shape. It’s a weird mix of thick cream and watery gel. If you have oily skin, you always have to be careful with how much you use but once you nail the perfect amount down, it’s great. I find that I only need a tiny amount to cover my face and see the effects without feeling like I’m drowning in oily cream.

Odor: This has a very herbal scent. It smells like a minty, herbal salve but the scent disappears really quickly so if you’re into the results but not the fragrance, it might still work.

Effect: I posted the picture below as part of my Instagram review. I used a very basic day and night skincare routine for 1 week (no acids, no actives, no sheetmasks) and the only new product I added was this cream. The picture on top was taken before the week and the one below was taken after the week was over. I decided to monitor my forehead since it’s the only area that I have acne and hyperpigmentation. My bangs make the area more acne-prone but this cream definitely made the problem disappear. It’s been a few weeks since I posted this picture on Instagram and since then, my forehead has become completely clear. This cream is not enough hydration on it’s own so I do use another moisturizer after using this cream.

IMG_20170802_153012

Ingredients: from cosdna

Centella Asiatica Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Water, Diglycerin, Cyclopentasiloxane, Niacinamide, Cyclohexasiloxane, Isohexadecane, Butylene Glycol, Betaine, Sodium Hyaluronate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Oenothera Biennis Oil, Sodium Acrylate, Polysorbate 80, Cetyl Palmitate, Sorbitan Palmitate, Sorbitan Olivate, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Pentylene Glycol, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil, Disodium EDTA, Boswellia Serrata Resin Extract, Bacillus/Soybean Ferment Extract, Simmondsia Chinensis Seed Oil, Magnolia Biondii Bark Extract, Propolis Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Thujopsis Dolabrata Branch Extract, Citrus Grandis Fruit Extract, Chamomilla Recutita Flower/
leaf Extract, Salix Alba Bark Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Borago Officinalis Seed extract, Arginine, Adenosine, Hydrolyzed pea protein, Lecithin, Olive Fruit Oil, Squalene, Phytosterols, Ceramide 3, Butyrospermum Parkii Butter.

17-08-10-09-34-29-860_deco

While reading about Centella, I found out Centella supplements are apparently a thing! They seem to help with varicose veins, cellulite, neurite growth and a whole list of other things (I didn’t read the actual human studies for these effects but read the summaries. I don’t confirm any of these effects but I intend to read more about it because it seems interesting). It seems Centella extract works as a great antioxidant which helps cell-turnover and thus helps fade the acne scars. It’s also known as “Brahmi” which sparked a light bulb. I’ve heard of Brahmi in India and it is used in ayurveda for a lot of the same claims as in other countries.

I was surprised to find the cream also had propolis extract. I’ve loved every propolis product I’ve tried so far. Sure, there are lots of propolis duds out there but I haven’t used any of them so far. When I bought the product off 0.8L I did not have detailed information for all the ingredients so it is fun to find out that a product that worked so well had a lot of the ingredients I had liked in other products.

Verdict: So in case it isn’t obvious already, I’m in love with this cream. I use it every day after all my serums but before any moisturizer. I have to be careful with how much I use but with my skin, that is expected. I always have to use the tiniest bit of any product or it overwhelms my skin. This product has encouraged me to try more Centella products and the rest of this line from PureHeals and I definitely recommend anyone with acne-prone oily or oily-combination skin to try this out!

 

Rating: 5/5. I’ve never seen results this great this fast. I will definitely repurchase this and stay on the hunt for something similar or better.

16-05-21-13-49-49-743_deco

This product was bought from 0.8L as part of their campaign but this post is not sponsored or biased.

Leave a comment