Kenra Platinum Snail CC Cream

Being a part of the Asian Beauty and Skincare community almost guarantees that you’re part of the snail fanclub. If you’re not yet, you will be soon. So naturally, I was leaping at the first chance to try a snail CC cream. As soon as I opened the package I squeezed some of the CC cream out to check the shade only to realize that it’s a hair CC cream. Serves me right for getting excited and not even reading the details right? But this was even better! Snail is so nourishing for the skin so maybe it’s great for hair too and now I get to find out.

17-02-26-14-51-00-644_deco.jpg

Consistency: 

This is a colorless, thick gel-like cream. It isn’t sticky or oily which is great because it doesn’t make the hair feel sticky or disgusting. It absorbs really quickly too which can be either a good thing or bad depending on what your hair needs. On days when my hair is just extra-dry I use argan oil instead of this product because the CC cream just absorbs and doesn’t act as a barrier between the hair and dry air at all.

Odor:

The cream smells really pleasant and fresh. The scent doesn’t linger so it won’t get annoying through the day. It’s subtle and then disappears.

Effects:

For me, it isn’t thick enough to deeply hydrate the hair but it does moisturize enough to calm the hair and help it relax. It’s a great little addition if I’m heading out and just find flyaways or frizz.

Ingredients: From Ulta

Water (Aqua), Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Glyceryl Dilaurate, Dimethicone, Benzyl Alcohol, Fragrance (Parfum), Polyimide-1, Sodium Laneth-40 Maleate/Styrene Sulfonate Copolymer, Polyquaternium-55, Dehydroacetic Acid, Glyceryl Polymethacrylate, Aleuritic Acid, Yeast Extract (Faex), Glycoprotein, Propylene Glycol.

So here’s what concerns me – there’s no snail mucin in the ingredients list so I have no idea if there is a significant amount of it in the product or not. I don’t know as much about haircare ingredients so until I find out more, I’m going to skip the ingredient analysis.

17-02-26-14-52-02-362_deco

Verdict: 

I think it’s a great product for someone with slightly straighter hair that isn’t too dry. It would be a wonderful leave-in treatment for people that just want to nourish their hair and set their style/blowout before heading out. For more damaged and dry hair, this is a good in-between treatment for days when your hair needs a wash but still needs hydration with the dry shampoo. I like it and I’m going to continue using it but for now, I wouldn’t repurchase it if I can find something thicker.

Rating: 3/5

*Powered by BrandBacker

Leave a Reply

