Etude House Bubble Tea Sleeping Pack – Green Tea

Screen Shot 2017-08-18 at 11.02.01 AM

When this product launched I couldn’t contain my excitement! It looked like bubble tea, it was a sleeping mask and it came in 3 incredible varieties. It was just perfect. I rushed to get it because I wanted to be one of the first to try it and review it. Hurdle #1: I couldn’t decide which kind I wanted! The strawberry might smell amazing but then the black tea (collagen) tightens and firms skin and those words attract me like a magpie to shiny bottle caps. And the Green Tea! It was perfect for my skin. It took me quite a few days of staring and searching to make up my mind and I didn’t want to feed the sleeping-pack-obsessed monster in my head by getting all 3. Hurdle #2: The shipping! It felt like I had to wait a decade for this little bubbly bottle of cuteness. It actually shipped really quickly by Jolse-standards but I was being impatient. Hurdle #3: When the product finally arrived, it was time to start studying for finals week and the MCAT and the GRE and all those scary things. I couldn’t resist using the sleeping pack anymore so I started using it and then forgot to review it!

It’s now been about 2 months or more since I started using this green goop so I guess I’ve had more than enough time to evaluate it.

Consistency:

If you’ve ever used Gel Creams, that’s what this is. It’s a gel that just melts when you touch it but isn’t a runny liquid at all. It’s good at forming the film that sleeping packs usually do and makes my cheeks feel chok chok and wonderful.The Boba is meant to be crushed and while etude house suggests using 1 bubble every time but I think that might be too heavy for someone with oily/combination skin. It’s a little slippery and difficult to break the boba too but the edge of the spoon can be used to slice it first so you have the amount you need and then crush it while it’s laying on a flat side. I recommend putting more of the boba on dry patches and just the plain sleeping pack on oilier patches.

Screen Shot 2017-08-18 at 11.02.28 AM

Odor:

This does not smell like green tea or bubble tea. It has a very clear, fruity-floral scent that feels typical of skincare products. It smells very similar to my Avon Nutraeffects Chia Seed Gel Cream and a lot of other lotions. The scent is clean and fresh and I don’t find it irritating. There have been no rashes or any reactions to the fragrance at all.

Effects:

The pack does not feel heavy or messy. It absorbs well but does so gradually which I prefer since it serves the function of slowly releasing moisture into the skin throughout the night. My skin feels plump and hydrated. More so than when I don’t use this mask. The next morning my skin is clearer, less oily but very hydrated and softer. It’s also a little brighter and glowing than it was the night before.

Ingredients(From Memebox):

Water, Propanediol, Glycerin, PEG/PPG-17/6 Copolymer, Alcohol Denat., Butylene Glycol, 1, 2-Hexanediol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract,Castanea Crenata (Chestnut) Shell Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Extract, Dipropylene Glycol, Bis-PEG-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane,Beta-Glucan, Panthenol, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Agar,Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Glyceryl Acrylate/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Sodium Polyacrylate, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Extract, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Sodium Carbomer, Hydroxyacetophenone, Carbomer, Tromethamine, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Coco-glucoside, Benzoic Acid, Disodium EDTA, Ethylhexylglycerin, CI 19140, CI 42090, Iron Oxides (CI 77491), Iron Oxides (CI 77499), Fragrance

Yup that looks like a lot of ingreients but none of them seem out of the ordinary. Most of the ingredients that form the base, solvent, emulsifier, etc. are the common ones found in other sleeping masks too. I was surprised to see Denatured Alcohol in there since I cannot feel or smell it. Most toners with alcohol either sting or feel dehydrating but this sleeping mask shows no signs of alcohol. So I’m not worried about the presence of Denatured Alcohol in this product but try to use alcohol-free toners as far as possible.

Verdict:

After having tried quite a few sleeping masks, this is definitely one of my favorites. It’s probably only second to the Lancome Energie de Vie Sleeping Mask which I loved. A little goes a looooong way and the product itself is affordable (especially if you manage to find it on sale or at a discount) so I think it’s definitely worth it. Since I’ve only tried the Green Tea one, I can’t speak for all the masks but I completely recommend trying the Green Tea Bubble Tea Sleeping Mask. When (and if I ever do) I run out of this mask, I plan on trying the Black Tea Collagen but until then, I’m pretty satisfied with the product. Would I repurchase the same one again? Yes! But I probably won’t need to since there’s so much product in one container.

Rating: 4.5/5

16-07-25-00-57-40-310_deco

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment